Planned/Intentional Pooling

brite-eyed:

SAVE YOURSELF (or a friend) FROM YARN DISASTERS WITH MULTICOLORED YARN!

  1. Knit a test swatch until all colors have repeated at least 3 times! 
  2. and count the # of stitches in each color. 
  3. input each color and number of stitches in the app in sequential order
  4. get an imediate idea of how they pool or stripe! (so you don’t knit something ugly AF) 
  5. if it is pooling ugly you can adjust your needle size to make your stitches larger or smaller, or adust your number of stitches in a row to help the pools line up better. It takes practice but you’ll get better with experience. 

Example: 
Also please note that this tool kinda isn’t the best for open knitting but it’s the only project I have on hand rn. You’ll have better fortune with knitting or pearling but please bear with me for the feather and fan nonsense I have below! 

1. I knit a test swatch, 

2. And I counted my numbers of stitches in each color. (again feather and fan f-it all to hell but) lets pretend here that I have: 6 blue, 4 green, 3 yellow, 6 orange, and 5 red and it just repeats like that over and over! 

3. I input each color, enter my number of stitches in a row (for this project 89), and select my type of knitting. 

4. HOT DAMN! As you can see this is a visual MESS XD 
And likewise the scarf I’m knitting IS A VISUAL MESS!!! 

This yarn is hand dyed so the colors aren’t uniformly stretched across the yarn (also have had to use multiple skeins – when you do this try to line up the color you start on with the one you’ve ended the last one with. ) but the preview isn’t far off from the result. 

Now had I found this tool earlier and decreased my kniting from 89 stitches a row to 72 I would’ve gotten something like this: 

Or if I’d knit something in the round instead of a flat knit I could’ve even gotten RAINBOW  stripes! 

SO THE LESSON TO BE LEARNED FROM MY FUCK UP IS PREVIEW YOUR POOLING AND USE THIS HUMBLE BUT USEFUL TOOL!!!

Planned/Intentional Pooling

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.